FogBugz Technical Support

A forum for technical support discussion related to Fogbugz.
The current FogBugz Knowledge Base can be found at http://help.fogcreek.com/fogbugz.

Posts by Fog Creek Employees are marked:

Documentation
Release Notes
Network Status

Resolve then Close

Hi,

When prompted for an entry when resolving I enter details of how I resolved the bug, when closing, what do you enter? Or do you just leave it blank like me :)

Kieran
Kieran
Monday, December 11, 2006
 
 
We have the developer mark a bug as resolved, then another person, in our case from the QA department, tests the bug and can then close it. We have a policy that one person cannot resolve and then close a bug. It prevents a bug from being tested the same way it was designed by the programmer
Dawn Wielgus Send private email
Monday, December 11, 2006
 
 
Depends on the situation - in one workflow, as Dawn suggests, the resolve describes the fix, the close describes the test.  If that is unnecessary (as when responding to an email), I leave the close comment empty myself.
Eric Nehrlich Send private email
Monday, December 11, 2006
 
 
I was just to post an exception I found (and possible bug) for this resolve/close scenario :) - and I saw this thread.

Description of the problem:
There are 2 problems:
1. The user who resolved the case, can close it as well.
2. The user who closed the report is not reported to do so.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Send an email to bugs email. A new case is created, and according to the setup, is assigned to USER1. (USER1 is also the user, on which behalf the case is created).
2. USER1 assigns the case to USER2 (USER2 is admin as well).
3. USER2 resolves the case. The case is automatically assigned to USER1.
4. Now USER2 closes the case (problem 1 - it should not happen, based on your explanation).
5. Now the last line in case history read: Closed by USER1 (problem 2 - this is not true, as USER2 closed the case).

Expected behavior:
(4) Only USER1 should be able to close the case.
(5) The case should be marked as closed by USER2.

I'm using FogBugz Version 5.0.17 (DB 502) on Windows.
Svetoslav Milenov (aka Sunny) Send private email
Monday, December 11, 2006
 
 
The behavior that only the original opener can close a case is only recommended, not enforced, in FogBugz.  There are many situations in which it is appropriate for somebody else to close the case, so FogBugz has a compromise where it notifies the original opener when a case is resolved, but anybody with access to the case can close it.

I can't reproduce the other symptom you mention - if USER2 closes the case on my system, USER2 is listed as the closer.  Are you sure that USER2 is the logged in person when the case is closed?
Eric Nehrlich Send private email
Tuesday, December 12, 2006
 
 
For sure I had this case before I posted. But now I can not reproduce it as well. I was the only person working with the system at the moment from 2 different workstations. Anyway, if I can not reproduce it, its possible that I'm wrong.

Thanks
Svetoslav Milenov (aka Sunny) Send private email
Tuesday, December 12, 2006
 
 

This topic is archived. No further replies will be accepted.

Other recent topics Other recent topics
 
Powered by FogBugz Bug Tracking and Evidence-Based Scheduling.